Content Analysis Standards development Heterogeneity MEtadata REtrieval


Latest News
2005-11-24
Cashmere - int Workshop  "Implementation and Transmission" in Osnabrück
 
Cashmere - int Workshop 2005
 

CASHMERE-int

German

Semantic Web: Development and Transmission

Subproject of:

Competence Network: New Services, Standardization, MetaData

 
home
Tools
Newsletter
 
Osnabrück
Göttingen
 

home

Tools

Here you can find links to tools and short descriptions that, for the purpose of our project, make a contribution to the development of the Semantic Web. This list is incomplete and suggestions for further additions are welcome. Some of these tools were developed (further advanced) in the project of Cashmere-int.

Nr. Titel Beschreibung Kontakt
1 RDF Validator:
CARA - Carmen RDF API. Version 2.

CARA is a RDF parser. It parses the RDF/XML and generates triples. It follows the RDF Grammar given by W3C (World Wide Web Consortium). CARA is based on the graph model of RDF and supports in-memory and persistent storage of RDF graphs. CARA was developed by Department of Mathematics/Computer Science, University of Osnabrück and is written in Perl.

CARA documentation.

Krishnamoorthi BM
2 Homepage Generator:
MMM.Persons 4.0 - Math-Net Meta Maker for Persons

As the amount of documents on the Internet grows day by day. In the Math-Net, a Metadata set for person data was defined in order to make a qualified search possible for information about persons. It is based upon the international standards in WWW such as Dublin Core Metadata, vCard, RDF, XML. Substantial steps have been taken at University of Osnabrück in the development of Framework and Tools that help in the creation of standardized personal homepages. MMM.Persons is easy to use and is provided with the help of a GUI form. The base task this tool performs is to create standardized and valid XHTML, MathML, SVG & RDF documents.

Martin Cavanagh
3 RDS 1.0 - Resource Description Server

Means of sharing authoritative knowledge about a given resource, based solely on the URI denoting that resource, becomes critical to achieving a fully open, global, scalable, and ubiquitous Semantic Web. RDS is a tool for knowledge discovery, both from authoritative sources as well as from arbitrary third party sources. It introduces an extension to the present web architecture used to indicate to a web server that it should resolve the specified URI in terms of knowledge about the resource denoted by that URI rather than in terms of a representation of the resource in question.

Gulraj Singh
4 TheO - Thesis Online Broker

TheO is the acronym for Theses Online. TheO is actually a search machine where one can search for theses submitted in various German universities. The system is based on Harvest-NG. The system is originally meant for collecting theses from German universities and summarizing it and storing it in a common format.

It also provides a WWW - query able interface so that the interested people can give their queries to get the matching outputs. The system is an IWI installation developed and maintained by the working group of Scientific/Mathematical information at the department of Mathematics/Computer science of the University of Osnabrück. The gathering process is done periodically for every 30 days.

Dhanapalan Kulandai Vadivel
5 HyREX on MathNet Preprints

Hyper Media Retrieval Engine for XML documents is used on the Mathnet.preprints data. The user interface is equipped with the various features supported by HyREX like vague search predicates and searching methods. Internally HyREX fetches the results based on index weighting and query term weighting.

Hari Kishan Reddy Dargula
6 MMM version 3.2 - Mathematics Metadata Markup, MPRESS

The interface of MMM tool version 3.2 creates index files for mathematical preprints and published articles. The created file contains RDF Metadata which are useful for search engines to retrieve and provide documentation for the paper.

Martin Cavanagh

 

 
Impressum
Valid XHTML 1.0!
Mitglied
W3C
BMBF DLR IWI

Content Analysis Standards development Heterogeneity MEtadata REtrieval


Latest News
24.11.2005
Cashmere - int Workshop "Implementation and Transmission" in Osnabrück
 
Cashmere - int Workshop 2005
 

CASHMERE-int

English

Semantic Web: Development and Transmission

Teilprojekt im:

Kompetenznetzwerk: Neue Dienste, Standardisierung, MetaDaten

 
home
Tools
Newsletter
 
Osnabrück
Göttingen
 

home

Tools

Hier finden Sie Links zu Werkzeugen (Tools) und kurze Beschreibungen, die im Sinne unseres Projektes einen Beitrag zur Entwicklung des Semantic Webs leisten. Diese Liste ist unvollständig und Vorschläge für Ergänzungen sind immer willkommen. Einige dieser Tools wurden im Rahmen von Cashmere-int (weiter-)entwickelt.

Nr. Titel Beschreibung Kontakt
1 RDF Validator:
CARA - Carmen RDF API. Version 2.

Cara ist ein RDF-Parser. Er analysiert RDF/XML und generiert Tripel. Er richtet sich nach der RDF Grammatik die vom W3C (World Wide Web Consortium) ausgegeben wird. CARA basiert auf dem RDF Graphenmodell und unterstützt die dauerhafte Speicherung von RDF Graphen innerhalb eines Speichers. CARA wurde vom Fachbereich Mathematik/ Informatik der Universität Osnabrück entwickelt und ist in Perl geschrieben.

CARA Dokumentation (englisch).

Krishnamoorthi BM
2 Homepagegenerator:
MMM.Persons 4.0 - Math-Net Meta Maker for Persons

Da die Anzahl von Dokumenten im Internet jeden Tag zunimmt, wurde von Math-Net ein Metadatensatz für persönliche Daten definiert, um eine qualifizierte Suche nach Informationen über Personen zu ermöglichen. Er basiert auf den internationalen Standards des World Wide Web wie z.B. Dublin Core Metadata Initiative, vCard, RDF und XML.

An der Universität Osnabrück wurden beachtliche Schritte in der Entwicklung von Frameworks und Tools unternommen, welche in der Erstellung von standardisierten persönlichen Homepages behilflich sind. MMM.Persons ist einfach in der Anwendung und wird mit Hilfe einer GUI Eingabemaske bereit gestellt. Die Hauptaufgabe des Tools besteht darin, standardisierte und valide XHTML, MathML, SVG und RDF Dokumente zu erstellen.

Martin Cavanagh
3 RDS 1.0 - Resource Description Server

Wege, um anerkanntes Wissen über eine bestimmte Ressource freizugeben, basierend auf der URI, welche die Ressource benennt, sind entscheidend in der Erstellung eines vollkommen offenen, globalen, skalierbaren Semantic Web mit hoher Netzkapazität. RDS ist ein Tool für die Ermittlung von Kenntnissen über sowohl anerkannte Quellen als auch über andere Quellen. Es stellt eine Erweiterung der derzeitigen Web Architektur dar, die benutzt wird, um dem Webserver zu erkennen zu geben, dass er die spezifizierte URI in Form von Wissen (in Form einer Beschreibung) über die Ressource auflösen soll anstatt in Form von deren Repräsentation.

Gulraj Singh
4 TheO - Thesis Online Broker

TheO ist das Akronym für Theses Online. TheO ist eine Suchmaschine, mit der man Dissertationen suchen kann, die in verschiedenen deutschen Universitäten eingereicht wurden. Das System basiert auf Harvest-NG. Es war ursprünglich dazu gedacht, Dissertationen von deutschen Universitäten zu sammeln und sie in einem gebräuchlichen Format zu speichern.

Es stellt auch ein WWW-abfragefähiges Interface zur Verfügung, mit dem Interessierte ihre Anfragen stellen können, um die passenden Ausgaben zu finden. Dieses System ist eine IWI-Installation, die von der Arbeitsgruppe Wissenschaftliche/ Mathematische Information am Fachbereich Mathematik/ Informatik der Universität Osnabrück entwickelt wurde und gepflegt wird. Der Sammelprozess wird regelmässig alle 30 Tage durchgeführt.

Dhanapalan Kulandai Vadivel
5 HyREX on MathNet Preprints

Die Hyper Media Retrieval Engine für XML Dokumente wird für MathNet.preprints Daten verwendet. Das Benutzer Interface ist mit verschiedenen Funktionen ausgestattet, die von HyREX unterstützt werden wie zum Beispiel unbestimmte Suchprädikate und Suchmethoden. Intern ruft HyREX die Ergebnisse über die Bewertung des Indexes und der Abfragebegriffe ab.

Hari Kishan Reddy Dargula
6 MMM Version 3.2 - Mathematics Metadata Markup, MPRESS

Das Interface der MMM Tool Version 3.2 generiert Index Dateien für mathematische Vorabdrucke und veröffentlichte Artikel. Die generierte Datei enthält RDF Metadaten, welche für Suchmaschinen von Nutzen sind, um die Dokumentation der Arbeit aufzurufen und zur Verfügung zu stellen.

Martin Cavanagh

 

 
Impressum
Valid XHTML 1.0!
Mitglied
W3C
BMBF DLR IWI